Approximately 4,200 people cast ballots in Kerr County during the early-voting period, down about 2,000 from the last non-presidential primary election, according to a county election official.

Elections coordinator Nadene Alford said she was unable Monday to provide a breakdown between the two parties, but as of Feb. 27, 1,566 had voted in the Republican primary and 415 had voted in the Democratic primary.

Voters in both parties have one more chance today to cast a ballot. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. across Kerr County.

The county elections office will post results three times this evening on its website,, according to Alford.

Results from early voting will be posted shortly after the polls close, another update will occur after 10 precincts have been counted, and the final vote will be posted when that information is available.

Compared to the 2014 election cycle, participation in the Democratic primary in Texas’ 15 most populous counties was up nearly 50 percent, according to The Associated Press. Republican turnout increased slightly, the AP said.

The Republican primary will decide races for Kerr County judge and commissioners in Precincts 2 and 4, as there are no Democrats vying for those positions.

Rob Kelly and Doyle Weaver are running for county judge, while Mindy Wendele is challenging Precinct 2 Commissioner Tom Moser, and Don Harris is challenging Precinct 4 Commissioner Bob Reeves.

On the Democratic ballot, there is a contest for Kerr County Democratic Party chairman between incumbent Rick Ertel and challenger Barbara A. Veldhuizen.

Stephanie Ertel of Mountain Home is running against Joe P. Herrera in the Democratic primary for state representative District 53, the seat held by Republican Andrew Muir of Junction, who has no opponent in the GOP primary.

Eighteen Republicans and four Democrats are running for the District 21 congressional seat now held by Republican Lamar Smith, who is retiring.

Republican U.S. Senator Ted Cruz is defending his seat this year with U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke the apparent favorite to challenge him from the Democratic Party. No Democrat has represented Texas in the Senate since 1993.

Statewide, voters will be selecting candidates for governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, comptroller of public accounts and commissioners for the General Land Office, Agriculture Department and Railroad Commission.

For information about voting in Kerr County, contact the county election office at 792-2242.

Sniffen, John. “County, state, congressional races on ballot today.” Kerrville Daily Times, 6 Mar. 2018,